The Mulch Gardening Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Go to bottom
TOPIC: Avocado Leaves turning brown
SamM
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Avocado Leaves turning brown 2 Years, 8 Months ago Karma: 0
I have two Dwarf Holiday Avocado Trees growing in containers in my yard. They were recently planted (within last two months) and I have noticed that the ends of some of the leaves are turning brown! What could be causing this? I am new to growing Avocado's in my yard and any advice is welcome. I water the plants every day by hand.

Logged Logged
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
Darcy
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph
Re:Avocado Leaves turning brown 2 Years, 8 Months ago Karma: 0
Avocados do not like to have their roots wet and with watering everyday, this may be the problem. They do need a lot of water but it has to drain off of the roots. I would check to see what's going on in the soil and maybe cut back on your watering. What type of potting soil did you use? A cactus mix is the recommended soil if you're growing them in pots. Good luck!

Logged Logged
mitch
Admin
graph
Re:Avocado Leaves turning brown 2 Years, 8 Months ago Karma: 2
Avocados also do not like salty water (which unfortunately you probably have) since you are in Santee. I've been told to let the soil of your avocados dry out in between waterings.

Also, here's another discussion about a similar problem from before. www.themulch.com/component/kunena/Fruits...Avocado-brown-leaves

I hope this helps.

Logged Logged
tanyad
Junior Boarder
graphgraph